FTBA Safety Committee

Our mission is to provide relevant safety training and resource materials to our FTBA members which can be used to educate workers, protect the public and promote safety within our industry.

Stop Use & Recall Notice on 3M DBI-SALATwin-Leg Nano-Lok Self-Retracting Lifelines

August 16, 2019
Stop Use and Recall Notice

3M Fall Protection announces an immediate stop use and product recall of the 3M™ DBI-SALA® Nano-Lok™ edge and Wrap Back Twin-Leg Self Retracting Lifelines. The twin-leg Nano-Lok edge is part of a personal fall protection system and connects two self-retracting lifelines/devices (SRL’s/SRD’s) directly under the dorsal d-ring of a worker’s harness. It is intended to be anchored at foot-level, and is designed for sharp edge applications. The twin-leg Wrap Back Nano-Lok is intended for wrapping around an anchor and incorporates a similar energy absorber. 3M has determined that in the event of a fall and under certain conditions, the energy absorber may not properly deploy which could expose the worker to serious injury or death. Although there have been no reports of accidents or injuries associated with this issue, these products must be removed from service immediately...
Read More

Certification Requirements for MOT Personnel

August 1, 2019 | Jamie Bertoch, Acme Barricades, LC
Traffic Signals and Barricades

We’ve all had the experience of driving down the road, and suddenly you find yourself approaching a disorganized, confusing mix of Temporary Traffic Control (a.k.a. TTC or MOT) devices scattered about the road ahead, possibly accompanied by a sign or two haphazardly installed on the shoulder. While those devices were intended to help motorists safely navigate through or around the work zone, when done improperly, they can create a far more hazardous situation, compromising the safety of the workers and the traveling public....
Read More

Driveway Assistance Device Increases Safety at Lake Okeechobee

July 8, 2019 | Matt Stubblefield, Horizon Signal Technologies

During a recent construction project on Rucks Dairy Road in Lake Okeechobee, FDOT faced a dilemma. Seven individual driveways fell within the one-lane work zone that would be active for the next four to six months. The residents using these driveways every day would need an indication telling them when it was safe to exit their driveway, and enter the work zone...
Read More

Aerial Lift Safety

May 29, 2019 | Mark Ligon, Vecellio Group, Inc.

A training class prior to operating the lift would have really helped in this situation. Almost every day somewhere in the world, someone is being catapulted from the basket of an aerial lift and landing like a sack of bricks on the ground below.  This is completely unnecessary and 100% preventable....
Read More

Committee Members

Committee Co-Chairmen:
Mark Ligon, Vecellio Group, Inc. – Mark.Ligon@vecelliogroup.com

Phillip Russell, Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C. – Phillip.Russell@ogletreedeakins.com